Jackery Explorer 1000 Plus vs Jackery Explorer 1000 v2: faster recharge rate vs cheaper per watt-hour

Specifications checked against manufacturer pages on 2026-08-23.

The Jackery Explorer 1000 Plus (1,264.6 Wh, 2,000 W) and the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 (1,070 Wh, 1,500 W), compared on the figures their makers publish. On the normalized ratios, the Explorer 1000 Plus recharges at a higher rate (12.4 Wh/min vs 11.3 Wh/min); the Explorer 1000 v2 costs less per watt-hour ($0.51/Wh vs $0.79/Wh).

In short. The Explorer 1000 v2 leads on cost per watt-hour ($0.51/Wh vs $0.79/Wh), watt-hours per pound (45.0 Wh/lb vs 39.5 Wh/lb) and continuous watts per dollar (2.73 W/$ vs 2.00 W/$). The Explorer 1000 Plus leads on recharge rate (12.4 Wh/min vs 11.3 Wh/min). 2 of 6 measures tie or are not comparable. Note: the Explorer 1000 Plus is listed as discontinued at the manufacturer; the price used here is its last list price.

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, CalmWatt may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, CalmWatt earns from qualifying purchases. Prices and availability on Amazon change; we do not show them here.

Check the current price

Links go to the exact base unit we compared, not a bundle. Amazon prices change daily.

We do not link the Explorer 1000 Plus: we could not confirm a listing for the exact base unit, and we do not link a guess.

Specifications, side by side

Numbered notes below the table give the source location or a caveat for figures that need one; check marks mark the better figure where one can be judged; “Manufacturer does not state” means absent from that maker’s page as of its check date listed under Sources. UPS switchover is how long the outlets go dark when grid power drops.

Specification Jackery Explorer 1000 Plus Jackery Explorer 1000 v2
Rated capacity 1,264.6 Wh1 ✓ 1,070 Wh2
Usable capacity (calculated)* 1075–1138 Wh 910–963 Wh
Continuous AC output 2,000 W3 ✓ 1,500 W4
Surge output 4,000 W5 ✓ 3,000 W6
Full recharge from wall 102 min7 95 min8 ✓
Cell chemistry LiFePO49 LiFePO410
Rated cycle life 4,000 cycles to 70%+11,12 4,000 cycles to 70%+13,14
UPS switchover Manufacturer does not state <20 ms15
Expandable Yes, up to 5,056 Wh16,17 None listed18
Max solar input 800 W19 ✓ 400 W20
Max AC charging input 1,200 W21 Manufacturer does not state
AC outlets 322 323
Highest USB-C port 100 W24 100 W25
App control Yes26 Yes27
Stated noise Manufacturer does not state 30 dB28
Warranty 5 years29 3 years30
Weight 32 lb31 about 23.8 lb32 ✓
Manufacturer list price when checked $99933 $54934 ✓

* Calculated: rated capacity × an assumed 85–90% conversion efficiency; no maker publishes a usable figure.

Notes on the figures

  1. Explorer 1000 Plus, rated capacity: Marketing copy on the same page rounds this to 1264 Wh.
  2. Explorer 1000 v2, rated capacity: 30.4Ah/35.2V DC (1070 Wh)
  3. Explorer 1000 Plus, continuous output: Rated total AC output across the three AC outlets combined.
  4. Explorer 1000 v2, continuous output: 1500W Rated, 3000W Surge peak
  5. Explorer 1000 Plus, surge: Conventional surge/peak rating stated alongside the 2000 W rated output; Jackery does not market a separate resistive-load boost mode for this model.
  6. Explorer 1000 v2, surge: 1500W Rated, 3000W Surge peak
  7. Explorer 1000 Plus, full recharge: The spec sheet’s charging-time entry for the AC adapter; 1.7 hours equals 102 minutes. The page’s FAQ separately states a 1.5-hour full recharge with the 1200 W AC charger.
  8. Explorer 1000 v2, full recharge: Jackery’s spec table gives 1.58 hours with the AC adapter; the ‘Emergency Charge 1 Hr’ headline is a faster mode.
  9. Explorer 1000 Plus, cell chemistry: The page also writes the chemistry as LiFePO4.
  10. Explorer 1000 v2, cell chemistry: Long-lasting LiFePO₄ cells ensure 10+ years (4,000 charge cycles) backed up by a 5-year warranty.
  11. Explorer 1000 Plus, cycle life: The manufacturer also summarizes this as 10+ years of use.
  12. Explorer 1000 Plus, cycle life: Stated as 70%+, meaning at least 70 percent of original capacity remains after 4,000 cycles.
  13. Explorer 1000 v2, cycle life: 4000 cycles to 70%+ capacity
  14. Explorer 1000 v2, cycle life: Jackery rates 4,000 cycles to 70%+ remaining capacity. Some competitors rate to 80%; the cycle counts are not directly comparable.
  15. Explorer 1000 v2, UPS switchover: Stated as under 20 milliseconds; an upper bound.
  16. Explorer 1000 Plus, expandable: Expansion uses the dedicated Explorer 1000 Plus battery packs, which are not compatible with other models.
  17. Explorer 1000 Plus, expandable: Total system capacity with the maximum of three add-on battery packs; marketing copy rounds this to 5 kWh.
  18. Explorer 1000 v2, expandable: No expansion option appears on the product page; the manufacturer does not explicitly state that none exists.
  19. Explorer 1000 Plus, solar input: Maximum combined input across the two DC ports used for solar charging; the page also shows a solar recharge configuration using four 200 W panels.
  20. Explorer 1000 v2, solar input: (2x) DC 8mm Ports: 12-16V(Working Voltage)⎓8A Max, Double to 8A Max; 16-60V(Working Voltage)⎓10.5A Max, Double to 21A/400W Max
  21. Explorer 1000 Plus, AC input: Wattage of the AC charger as stated in the manufacturer’s FAQ; the spec sheet lists the charge-mode AC input as 100V-120V, 60 Hz, 15 A max without a wattage figure.
  22. Explorer 1000 Plus, AC outlets: Three 120 V AC outlets.
  23. Explorer 1000 v2, AC outlets: (3x) 120V ~ 60Hz
  24. Explorer 1000 Plus, USB-C: Two USB-C ports, each rated up to 100 W output.
  25. Explorer 1000 v2, USB-C: (1x) 100W Max, 5V⎓3A, 9V⎓3A, 12V⎓3A, 15V⎓3A, 20V⎓5A
  26. Explorer 1000 Plus, app: The Jackery app is available on Google Play and the Apple App Store, per the manufacturer’s FAQ.
  27. Explorer 1000 v2, app: Feature heading ‘Smart App Control And LCD Display’.
  28. Explorer 1000 v2, noise: Marketing feature block titled ‘Peace and Quiet’.
  29. Explorer 1000 Plus, warranty: A three-year standard warranty plus a two-year extension for orders placed on Jackery.com, for five years total; the purchase area states “3+2 Years Warranty ONLY at Jackery.com.”
  30. Explorer 1000 v2, warranty: Jackery states 3 years standard plus a 2-year extended warranty; per our policy we count the base three years.
  31. Explorer 1000 Plus, weight: From the spec sheet. A feature blurb on the same page describes the unit as “Lightweight (24lb) and easy to carry,” which conflicts with the spec-sheet figure.
  32. Explorer 1000 v2, weight: Around 23.8 lbs (10.8 kg)
  33. Explorer 1000 Plus, price: List price for the power station alone; no sale price was shown. The base unit was displayed as sold out with a pre-order notification option.
  34. Explorer 1000 v2, price: Manufacturer’s listed price when checked; may have been a sale price.

The same specs, normalized

Ratios, so the bigger unit does not win by default.

Measure Explorer 1000 Plus Explorer 1000 v2
Cost per watt-hour $0.79/Wh $0.51/Wh ✓
Watt-hours per pound 39.5 Wh/lb 45.0 Wh/lb ✓
Surge headroom 2.00× 2.00×
Recharge rate 12.4 Wh/min ✓ 11.3 Wh/min
Rated cycle life 4,000 4,000
Continuous watts per dollar 2.00 W/$ 2.73 W/$ ✓

Definitions and direction of each ratio: How we verify.

What each one runs, for how long

Appliance Explorer 1000 Plus Explorer 1000 v2
Full-size refrigerator
150 W, 900 W start, 35% duty · eff. 80%–87%
19–21 hr 16–18 hr
Mini fridge
70 W, 400 W start, 30% duty · eff. 70%–82%
1.8–2.1 days 36–42 hr
CPAP without humidifier
40 W · eff. 70%–82%
22–26 hr 19–22 hr
CPAP with heated humidifier
95 W · eff. 70%–87%
9.3–11.6 hr 7.9–9.8 hr
Gas furnace blower
400 W, 1600 W start, 40% duty · eff. 85%–90%
6.7–7.1 hr 5.7–6.0 hr
1/3 hp sump pump
500 W, 1800 W start, 15% duty · eff. 85%–90%
14–15 hr 12–13 hr
Router and modem
20 W · eff. 70%–82%
1.8–2.2 days 37–44 hr
Laptop
60 W · eff. 70%–82%
15–17 hr 12–15 hr
1500W space heater
1500 W · eff. 85%–90% / 82%–88%
0.7–0.8 hr about 0.6 hr

Calculated, not measured: hours = rated Wh × efficiency ÷ (appliance W × duty); assumptions on How we verify. “Unlikely to start”: start-up surge exceeds the stated surge rating.

What the differences mean

Price per watt-hour. At the list prices we checked, the Explorer 1000 v2 costs $0.51/Wh against $0.79/Wh for the Explorer 1000 Plus. At list the Explorer 1000 v2 is $450 cheaper ($549 vs $999) for 1,070 Wh vs 1,264.6 Wh. Prices move with sales; the ratio moves with them. Note: the Explorer 1000 Plus is listed as discontinued at the manufacturer; its figure here is the last list price shown.

Weight for the capacity. The Explorer 1000 v2 carries 45.0 Wh/lb against 39.5 Wh/lb for the Explorer 1000 Plus. Both are two-hands-and-a-flat-surface units; the difference matters if the unit moves between car, porch and basement.

Recharge. Both state about the same wall-charge time (95 and 102 minutes); the Explorer 1000 Plus leads on rate because it stores more in that time.

Output for the money. 2.73 W/$ on the Explorer 1000 v2 against 2.00 W/$ on the Explorer 1000 Plus: this is the ratio to read if your outage plan is one big appliance, not many small ones.

Which one, and for whom

On normalized measures the Explorer 1000 v2 leads on cost per watt-hour ($0.51/Wh vs $0.79/Wh), watt-hours per pound (45.0 Wh/lb vs 39.5 Wh/lb) and continuous watts per dollar (2.73 W/$ vs 2.00 W/$). The Explorer 1000 Plus answers on recharge rate (12.4 Wh/min vs 11.3 Wh/min). The deciding figure is the one your own outage will test first:

  • CPAP overnight. Switchover: Explorer 1000 Plus no UPS figure stated, Explorer 1000 v2 under 20 ms. A 40 W CPAP runs roughly 22–26 hr on the Explorer 1000 Plus and 19–22 hr on the Explorer 1000 v2. Both run the night; the Explorer 1000 Plus states no UPS figure, which matters more overnight than the hour difference.
  • Keeping a refrigerator cold. The compressor has to start before hours matter. The Explorer 1000 Plus states a 4,000 W surge rating; the Explorer 1000 v2 states a 3,000 W surge rating. A full-size refrigerator needs about 900 W to start.
  • A multi-day outage with a generator or solar to recharge from. Full recharge: Explorer 1000 Plus 102 min, Explorer 1000 v2 95 min. The faster unit spends less generator fuel per charge.

Check the current price

Links go to the exact base unit we compared, not a bundle. Amazon prices change daily.

We do not link the Explorer 1000 Plus: we could not confirm a listing for the exact base unit, and we do not link a guess.

Related reading

A 1,070–1,264.6 Wh battery cannot do what a gasoline generator does — the runtime table shows a 1,500 W space heater emptying either unit in 0.6–0.8 hr — but it also cannot poison a household. How often gasoline generators kill indoors — and how the official count keeps being revised — is documented in our CPSC revision matrix, and this page puts every verified unit on the same refrigerator scenario.

Ordering before a storm? Check the arrival date at checkout — a unit that ships tomorrow can beat a better one that ships next week. Amazon Prime includes fast delivery on eligible items and starts with a free trial; we earn a commission if you join.

Sources and method

Published specifications only; no bench tests. Method: How we verify. More: Comparisons.