Bluetti AC180 vs EcoFlow RIVER 2 Pro: cheaper per watt-hour vs lighter per watt-hour

Specifications checked against manufacturer pages on 2026-08-23.

The Bluetti AC180 (1,152 Wh, 1,800 W) and the EcoFlow RIVER 2 Pro (768 Wh, 800 W), compared on the figures their makers publish. On the normalized ratios, the AC180 costs less per watt-hour ($0.43/Wh vs $0.69/Wh); the RIVER 2 Pro carries more per pound (42.2 Wh/lb vs 32.6 Wh/lb).

In short. The AC180 leads on cost per watt-hour ($0.43/Wh vs $0.69/Wh), rated cycle life (3,500 vs 3,000) and continuous watts per dollar (3.61 W/$ vs 1.51 W/$). The RIVER 2 Pro leads on watt-hours per pound (42.2 Wh/lb vs 32.6 Wh/lb). 2 of 6 measures tie or are not comparable.

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, CalmWatt may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, CalmWatt earns from qualifying purchases. Prices and availability on Amazon change; we do not show them here.

Check the current price

Links go to the exact base unit we compared, not a bundle. Amazon prices change daily.

Specifications, side by side

Numbered notes below the table give the source location or a caveat for figures that need one; check marks mark the better figure where one can be judged; “Manufacturer does not state” means absent from that maker’s page as of its check date listed under Sources. UPS switchover is how long the outlets go dark when grid power drops.

Specification Bluetti AC180 EcoFlow RIVER 2 Pro
Rated capacity 1,152 Wh1 ✓ 768 Wh2
Usable capacity (calculated)* 979–1037 Wh 653–691 Wh
Continuous AC output 1,800 W3 ✓ 800 W4
Surge output No conventional surge stated (2,700 W boost mode)5 No conventional surge stated (1,600 W boost mode)6
Full recharge from wall Manufacturer does not state (0–80% in 45 min)7 70 min8
Cell chemistry LiFePO49 LiFePO4 (LFP)10
Rated cycle life 3,500+ cycles to 80%11 ✓ 3,000 cycles to 80%+12,13
UPS switchover Manufacturer does not state <30 ms14
Expandable No15 Manufacturer does not state
Max solar input 500 W16 ✓ 220 W17
Max AC charging input 1,440 W18 ✓ 940 W19
AC outlets 420 Manufacturer does not state
Highest USB-C port 100 W21 100 W22
App control Yes23 Yes24
Stated noise Manufacturer does not state 62 dB25
Warranty 5 years26 5 years27
Weight 35.3 lb28 18.2 lb29 ✓
Manufacturer list price when checked $49930 ✓ $52931

* Calculated: rated capacity × an assumed 85–90% conversion efficiency; no maker publishes a usable figure.

Notes on the figures

  1. AC180, rated capacity: 1,152Wh (AC180) / 1,440Wh (AC180P)
  2. RIVER 2 Pro, rated capacity: Rated capacity as stated by the manufacturer; the spec sheet lists Capacity as 768Wh.
  3. AC180, continuous output: 4 x 120V/15A 1800W In Total
  4. RIVER 2 Pro, continuous output: Total continuous AC output across all outlets combined.
  5. AC180, surge: The spec table labels this “Surge Power”, but the same 2,700 W figure is Bluetti’s Power Lifting Mode for resistive heating loads (FAQ Q1: “AC180 can run high-power heating devices up to 2,700W … Do NOT use this unit to run an air conditioner or washing machine.”). Treat as a boost mode for resistive loads; it is not a conventional motor-start surge rating and should not be read as one.
  6. RIVER 2 Pro, surge: The stated surge figure equals the X-Boost figure the page markets for running high-wattage resistive appliances such as hair dryers, microwaves, and electric kettles. It is not a conventional motor-start surge rating and should not be read as one.
  7. AC180, recharge: Bluetti publishes a 0–80% time (45 minutes), not a full-charge time.
  8. RIVER 2 Pro, full recharge: Full 0-100% recharge from a wall outlet.
  9. AC180, cell chemistry: LiFePO₄ (Lithium Iron Phosphate)
  10. RIVER 2 Pro, cell chemistry: The spec sheet lists the cell chemistry as LFP.
  11. AC180, cycle life: 3,500+ Cycles to 80% Original Capacity
  12. RIVER 2 Pro, cycle life: The manufacturer states this equals roughly 10 years of everyday use.
  13. RIVER 2 Pro, cycle life: The battery is rated to retain at least 80 percent of its original capacity after 3,000 charge cycles.
  14. RIVER 2 Pro, UPS switchover: Upper bound. The manufacturer markets this as an EPS auto-switch for essential devices during outages rather than a full UPS.
  15. AC180, expandable: Bluetti’s B-series batteries can charge the AC180 but do not extend its capacity as a single system.
  16. AC180, solar input: Solar Input: 500W Max., VOC 12-60VDC, 10A
  17. RIVER 2 Pro, solar input: Maximum solar input, with an accepted voltage range of 11-50 V at up to 13 A.
  18. AC180, AC input: Turbo Mode figure from SPECS > INPUT.
  19. RIVER 2 Pro, AC input: Maximum AC wall-charging input power.
  20. AC180, AC outlets: From SPECS > OUTPUT.
  21. AC180, USB-C: From SPECS > OUTPUT.
  22. RIVER 2 Pro, USB-C: The USB-C port is a shared input/output port rated at 100 W maximum in either direction.
  23. AC180, app: Bluetooth only; the page does not claim Wi-Fi.
  24. RIVER 2 Pro, app: Controlled through the EcoFlow app over Wi-Fi or Bluetooth.
  25. RIVER 2 Pro, noise: Upper bound, occurring when charging and discharging at high wattage.
  26. AC180, warranty: From SPECS > GENERAL.
  27. RIVER 2 Pro, warranty: Stated on the product page as one of the most extended warranties in the industry.
  28. AC180, weight: Bluetti’s page gives 35.3 lb in the spec table and 37 lb in the description; we use the spec table.
  29. RIVER 2 Pro, weight: The spec sheet lists net weight as approximately 18.2 lb.
  30. AC180, price: Manufacturer price when checked; no separate list price was shown.
  31. RIVER 2 Pro, price: List price; a sale price of $349.00 was shown at the time of capture.

The same specs, normalized

Ratios, so the bigger unit does not win by default.

Measure AC180 RIVER 2 Pro
Cost per watt-hour $0.43/Wh ✓ $0.69/Wh
Watt-hours per pound 32.6 Wh/lb 42.2 Wh/lb ✓
Surge headroom Not comparable — the AC180 figure is a boost-mode rating, not a motor-start surge.
Recharge rate Not comparable — Bluetti does not state a full-recharge time for the AC180.
Rated cycle life 3,500 ✓ 3,000
Continuous watts per dollar 3.61 W/$ ✓ 1.51 W/$

Definitions and direction of each ratio: How we verify.

What each one runs, for how long

Appliance AC180 RIVER 2 Pro
Full-size refrigerator
150 W, 900 W start, 35% duty · eff. 80%–87%
18–19 hr 12–13 hr (start-up not assessed)
Mini fridge
70 W, 400 W start, 30% duty · eff. 70%–87%
38–48 hr 26–32 hr
CPAP without humidifier
40 W · eff. 70%–87%
20–25 hr 13–17 hr
CPAP with heated humidifier
95 W · eff. 80%–87%
9.7–10.5 hr 6.5–7.0 hr
Gas furnace blower
400 W, 1600 W start, 40% duty · eff. 85%–90%
6.1–6.5 hr 4.1–4.3 hr (start-up not assessed)
1/3 hp sump pump
500 W, 1800 W start, 15% duty · eff. 85%–90%
13–14 hr (start-up not assessed) 8.7–9.2 hr (start-up not assessed)
Router and modem
20 W · eff. 70%–82%
40–47 hr 27–31 hr
Laptop
60 W · eff. 70%–87%
13–17 hr 9.0–11.1 hr
1500W space heater
1500 W · eff. 82%–88%
0.6–0.7 hr Will not run

Calculated, not measured: hours = rated Wh × efficiency ÷ (appliance W × duty); assumptions on How we verify. “Unlikely to start”: start-up surge exceeds the stated surge rating. “Start-up not assessed” appears where the start-up draw meets or exceeds the unit’s continuous rating and the unit states no conventional motor-start surge to check it against (AC180 and RIVER 2 Pro); the hours assume the motor starts.

What the differences mean

Price per watt-hour. At the list prices we checked, the AC180 costs $0.43/Wh against $0.69/Wh for the RIVER 2 Pro. At list the AC180 is $30 cheaper ($499 vs $529) for 1,152 Wh vs 768 Wh. Prices move with sales; the ratio moves with them.

Weight for the capacity. The RIVER 2 Pro carries 42.2 Wh/lb against 32.6 Wh/lb for the AC180. Both are two-hands-and-a-flat-surface units; the difference matters if the unit moves between car, porch and basement.

Cycle rating. The AC180 is rated for 3,500 cycles against 3,000 for the RIVER 2 Pro, both to the same remaining-capacity threshold — otherwise we would not compare them. At one full cycle a week the difference is measured in years, not months; at occasional outage use neither limit is reached.

Output for the money. 3.61 W/$ on the AC180 against 1.51 W/$ on the RIVER 2 Pro: this is the ratio to read if your outage plan is one big appliance, not many small ones.

Which one, and for whom

On normalized measures the AC180 leads on cost per watt-hour ($0.43/Wh vs $0.69/Wh), rated cycle life (3,500 vs 3,000) and continuous watts per dollar (3.61 W/$ vs 1.51 W/$). The RIVER 2 Pro answers on watt-hours per pound (42.2 Wh/lb vs 32.6 Wh/lb). The deciding figure is the one your own outage will test first:

  • CPAP overnight. Switchover: AC180 no UPS figure stated, RIVER 2 Pro under 30 ms. A 40 W CPAP runs roughly 20–25 hr on the AC180 and 13–17 hr on the RIVER 2 Pro. Both run the night; the AC180 states no UPS figure, which matters more overnight than the hour difference.
  • Keeping a refrigerator cold. The compressor has to start before hours matter. The AC180 states a boost figure rather than a motor-start surge rating; the RIVER 2 Pro states a boost figure rather than a motor-start surge rating. A full-size refrigerator needs about 900 W to start.
  • A multi-day outage with a generator or solar to recharge from. Full recharge: AC180 0–80% in 45 min (no full-charge time stated), RIVER 2 Pro 70 min. These are not comparable: Bluetti states no full-charge time for the AC180.

Check the current price

Links go to the exact base unit we compared, not a bundle. Amazon prices change daily.

Related reading

A 768–1,152 Wh battery cannot do what a gasoline generator does — only the AC180’s continuous rating covers a 1,500 W space heater, and it empties in 0.6–0.7 hr — but it also cannot poison a household. How often gasoline generators kill indoors — and how the official count keeps being revised — is documented in our CPSC revision matrix, and this page puts every verified unit on the same refrigerator scenario.

Ordering before a storm? Check the arrival date at checkout — a unit that ships tomorrow can beat a better one that ships next week. Amazon Prime includes fast delivery on eligible items and starts with a free trial; we earn a commission if you join.

Sources and method

Published specifications only; no bench tests. Method: How we verify. More: Comparisons.