EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus Review: Specs, Runtime, and Who It’s For (2026)

Specifications checked against manufacturer pages on 2026-08-23.

The EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus is a 286 Wh portable power station in the compact bracket, with a 600 W continuous inverter and LiFePO4 cells. This page transcribes the manufacturer’s specifications as they stood on 2026-08-23, turns the capacity into appliance hours, and names the rows EcoFlow does not fill in. Quoted figures carry a source; calculated ones carry a formula.

In short. 286 Wh in the compact band: $1.05/Wh at the list price we recorded; 27.5 Wh per pound; 3,000 rated cycles to 80%. On our assumptions a full-size refrigerator calculates to 4.6–4.9 hr, and a 40 W CPAP calculates to 5.7–6.2 hr. Hours are calculated from rated capacity, never measured.

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, CalmWatt may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, CalmWatt earns from qualifying purchases. Prices and availability on Amazon change; we do not show them here.

Check the current price

The link goes to the exact base unit whose specifications are on this page, not a bundle. Amazon prices change daily.

Who it is for, and who should skip it

Two lists, both drawn from the table further down.

It fits if

  • The unit has to move. 10.4 lb is a one-hand carry rather than a cart job, so car to porch to basement is realistic.
  • You may need more later. Stated capacity expands to 858 Wh with the maker’s expansion battery, so the first purchase is not the last word.

Skip it if

  • You want resistive heat. A 1,500 W heater is above the 600 W continuous rating; it will not run.
  • A refrigerator through a whole working day. On a typical full-size unit this calculates to 4.6–4.9 hr; that job wants the next size up.
  • Whole-house backup. This is a single-appliance unit, not a standby generator, and it is not wired to your panel.

Every published specification

Each footnote below points at the sentence a figure came from. Two phrases matter: “Manufacturer does not state” means the maker is silent, “Not yet verified by CalmWatt” means we are.

Specification EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus
Rated capacity 286 Wh1
Usable capacity (calculated)* 243–257 Wh
Continuous AC output 600 W2
Surge output 1,200 W3
Full recharge from wall 60 min4
Cell chemistry LiFePO45
Rated cycle life 3,000 cycles to 80%6,7
UPS switchover <10 ms8
Expandable Yes, up to 858 Wh9,10
Max solar input 220 W11
Max AC charging input 380 W12
AC outlets 313
Highest USB-C port 100 W14
App control Yes15
Stated noise <30 dB16
Warranty 5 years17
Weight 10.4 lb18
Manufacturer list price when checked $29919

* Our calculation, not a published figure: rated capacity × an assumed 85–90% conversion efficiency.

Notes on the figures

  1. RIVER 3 Plus, rated capacity: Specs table also lists “Capacity” / “286Wh”.
  2. RIVER 3 Plus, continuous output: AC Output row of the Specs table; also “600W rated output and 1200W X-Boost” in the bullet list.
  3. RIVER 3 Plus, surge: Manufacturer lists a conventional “Surge 1200W” and separately “X-Boost 1200W” (X-Boost is EcoFlow’s boost mode for resistive/heating loads); both are the same figure.
  4. RIVER 3 Plus, full recharge: AC Input row of the Specs table; full 0-100% wall recharge. Body copy: “4 charging options, safely charge 0-100% in 1 hr”.
  5. RIVER 3 Plus, cell chemistry: Battery Chemistry row of the Specs table.
  6. RIVER 3 Plus, cycle life: Body copy: “RIVER 3 Plus has a lifespan of 3000 charging cycles. That’s around 10 years of everyday use before its capacity drops to 80%.”
  7. RIVER 3 Plus, cycle life: LiFePO4, 3000 cycles to 80% capacity
  8. RIVER 3 Plus, UPS switchover: Upper bound: stated as “<10 ms” (Specs table row “UPS” / “<10 ms”).
  9. RIVER 3 Plus, expandable: Via RIVER 3 Plus Extra Battery EB300 (286Wh) or EB600 (572Wh).
  10. RIVER 3 Plus, expandable: Maximum system capacity with one EB600 extra battery (286Wh + 572Wh).
  11. RIVER 3 Plus, solar input: Solar Input row of the Specs table; bullet list says “Up to 220W fast solar charging”.
  12. RIVER 3 Plus, AC input: AC Input row of the Specs table.
  13. RIVER 3 Plus, AC outlets: Body copy mentions “two rear AC outlets” as part of the UPS-friendly design.
  14. RIVER 3 Plus, USB-C: USB-C Output row of the Specs table (one port).
  15. RIVER 3 Plus, app: The page mentions app and software alerts; it does not spell out Wi-Fi or Bluetooth control.
  16. RIVER 3 Plus, noise: Upper bound: Specs table row “Noise” / “<30 dB”; footnote says noise data is from lab tests at 89.6°F (32°C).
  17. RIVER 3 Plus, warranty: Not stated on the product page; from the official EcoFlow US warranty policy table at https://us.ecoflow.com/pages/warranty-policy (row “RIVER 3 Plus” / “5 years”; note the base RIVER 3 row is “24” months).
  18. RIVER 3 Plus, weight: Specs table row “Net Weight” / “10.4 lb”.
  19. RIVER 3 Plus, price: Shown as the regular price on a page whose address is a flash-sale listing.

What no maker states

A specification sheet is as informative in what it omits as in what it lists. One row stays empty here, and it stays empty on every rival’s page too. Worth noting: 29 of 34 units in our database leave a row blank. This one fills every row we track.

  • Usable capacity. No maker in our database publishes one. Rated capacity is the cells; what reaches the outlet is less, and the gap moves with the load.

No manufacturer publishes it, so a page quoting one has calculated it and usually will not say from what. Ours is calculated too, which is why the assumption is printed next to it.

What it runs, and for how long

Same appliances and assumptions we use on every comparison page, so these rows read against any other unit on this site.

Appliance RIVER 3 Plus
Full-size refrigerator
150 W, 900 W start, 35% duty · eff. 85%–90%
4.6–4.9 hr
Mini fridge
70 W, 400 W start, 30% duty · eff. 80%–87%
11–12 hr
CPAP without humidifier
40 W · eff. 80%–87%
5.7–6.2 hr
CPAP with heated humidifier
95 W · eff. 80%–87%
2.4–2.6 hr
Gas furnace blower
400 W, 1600 W start, 40% duty · eff. 85%–90%
Unlikely to start
1/3 hp sump pump
500 W, 1800 W start, 15% duty · eff. 82%–88%
Unlikely to start
Router and modem
20 W · eff. 70%–82%
10–12 hr
Laptop
60 W · eff. 80%–87%
3.8–4.1 hr
1500W space heater
1500 W
Will not run

Arithmetic, not a measurement: hours = rated Wh × efficiency ÷ (appliance W × duty). Appliance and efficiency assumptions live on How we verify. A row reading “Unlikely to start” failed the surge check, not the capacity one.

The same specs, normalized

Measure RIVER 3 Plus
Cost per watt-hour $1.05/Wh
Watt-hours per pound 27.5 Wh/lb
Surge headroom 2.00×
Recharge rate 4.8 Wh/min
Rated cycle life 3,000 cycles to 80%
Continuous watts per dollar 2.01 W/$

Ratios have no winner here — there is no second column. Each one is defined, with its direction, on How we verify.

What those figures actually mean

Cost per watt-hour: $1.05/Wh. The $299 list price we recorded over 286 Wh of rated capacity. This is the number to carry between listings; a discount changes it in proportion, so ours is only true for the day we recorded it.

Watt-hours per pound: 27.5 Wh/lb. 286 Wh in 10.4 lb makes this a one-hand carry. Density is what lithium iron phosphate gives up to older chemistries; the cycle rating is what it buys in return.

Surge headroom: 2.00×. A stated 1,200 W surge over a 600 W continuous rating, which covers the roughly 900 W a full-size refrigerator needs to start. Capacity is irrelevant if the motor never turns.

Recharge rate: 4.8 Wh/min. A full wall charge in 60 minutes. In a multi-day outage this is generator fuel measured in minutes.

Rated cycle life: 3,000 cycles to 80% capacity. Cycled weekly it would take about 58 years to get there, so for a few outages a year the cell count is not the limit. For daily off-grid use it is. The percentage matters as much as the count: two ratings only compare when they name the same remaining capacity.

Continuous watts per dollar: 2.01 W/$. Output for the money rather than storage for the money. Which of the two you should read depends on whether your outage is a big load or a long one.

Where it sits in our database

The obvious missing question on a one-unit page is whether these numbers are good. Here is where each lands among the units we have verified.

Measure RIVER 3 Plus Among verified units
Rated capacity 286 Wh 31st largest of 34
Continuous AC output 600 W 31st highest of 34
Cost per watt-hour $1.05/Wh 30th cheapest of 32
Watt-hours per pound 27.5 Wh/lb 33rd densest of 34
Weight 10.4 lb 6th lightest of 34

A low rank on weight is a high rank on portability. Nothing in this table is a verdict. The row built on price uses the manufacturer list price recorded on 2026-08-23; the retail price behind our link moves independently, so recompute that row against what you are shown.

Three outages, and the figure that decides each

  • One night, one CPAP. A 40 W CPAP without a humidifier calculates to 5.7–6.2 hr. The stated under 10 ms handover is what decides whether the machine notices the outage.
  • Twelve hours, one refrigerator. A typical full-size refrigerator calculates to 4.6–4.9 hr, and the stated 1,200 W surge covers its roughly 900 W start.
  • The loads people forget. A gas furnace blower is unlikely to start and a one-third horsepower sump pump is unlikely to start. Neither is a cord-and-plug load in a typical house, whatever these hours say. A router and modem, meanwhile, calculates to 10–12 hr.
  • Three days, with something to recharge from. A full wall recharge takes 60 minutes, and it accepts up to 220 W of solar, so day two turns on your panels and your sky.

The RIVER 3 Plus against other units

2 pages on this site compare the RIVER 3 Plus directly with another unit, using the table above on both sides.

Questions people ask about the RIVER 3 Plus

Answers use only the figures on this page.

How long will the RIVER 3 Plus run a refrigerator?

4.6–4.9 hr on our assumptions for a typical full-size unit at 150 W running and a 35% duty cycle. The stated surge covers the roughly 900 W start. Your own compliance label is the number that matters.

Can the RIVER 3 Plus run a CPAP all night?

A 40 W machine without a humidifier calculates to 5.7–6.2 hr on our assumptions, against the eight hours a night usually needs. The maker states under 10 ms on the handover. A heated humidifier roughly doubles the draw.

How long does the RIVER 3 Plus take to recharge?

60 minutes from a wall outlet on the maker’s figure, with up to 220 W accepted from solar. In a long outage that sets how long a generator runs per refill.

How much does the RIVER 3 Plus weigh?

10.4 lb on the maker’s figure, or 27.5 Wh of rated capacity carried per pound. That is a one-hand carry, so it moves with you rather than living in one place.

How many cycles is the RIVER 3 Plus rated for?

3,000 cycles to 80% of original capacity, on LiFePO4 cells, which is roughly 58 years at one cycle a week. Compare it only with ratings quoted to the same remaining capacity.

Can you expand the RIVER 3 Plus’s capacity?

Yes, to a stated 858 Wh with the maker’s expansion battery, up from 286 Wh alone. Confirm the matching battery is on sale before counting on it.

Check the current price

The link goes to the exact base unit whose specifications are on this page, not a bundle. Amazon prices change daily.

Related reading

Against a gasoline generator this loses on endurance — its continuous rating does not cover a 1,500 W space heater at all — and wins on the one thing that kills people every winter. Our CPSC revision matrix tracks how the official count of generator carbon-monoxide deaths has changed across report editions, and this page puts every verified unit, including this one, on one refrigerator scenario.

Ordering before a storm? Check the arrival date at checkout — a unit that ships tomorrow can beat a better one that ships next week. Amazon Prime includes fast delivery on eligible items and starts with a free trial; we earn a commission if you join.

Sources and method

We compared published specs and copied each figure from the manufacturer’s page. Runtimes are our arithmetic, not a measurement, and the formula is on the page so you can substitute your own load. Method: How we verify. More: Comparisons.